Common Spaces by New Simplicity Trio is a powerful statement of musical commitment to groove and melody. These are tunes that will be whistled and hummed.
Something of a rarity on the contemporary UK and European scene amongst younger players, the trio of Heinen, Jensen and Fusco focus on melodic and harmonic simplicity. That approach has given space for every stroke or touch to stand distinct, achieving a fine balance of tension and grace on Common Spaces and between the 3 players.
New Simplicity Trio formed in 2014, with the addition of Danish London-based double bassist Henrik Jensen to the long-standing and deep collaboration between Italian drummer Antonio Fusco and the British pianist Bruno Heinen. Their approach is rooted in the ideas initially put forward by the Evans/La Faro/Motion trio of a collective and equally voiced group, but with a contemporary compositional perspective, with contributions from each of the trio.
The group’s name was inspired by the post-serial movement of late 1970’s contemporary classical German composers who rejected the complexity of serialism and other avant-garde practices. They instead composed memorable melodic and harmonic compositions, seeking an immediacy and clarity of communication with their audiences.

All contents ©2017 New Simplicity Trio. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use strictly prohibited.

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now